Skip to main content

疝氣(小腸氣)門診

中大醫院1樓 | 香港中文大學醫務中心

服務時間

列印

我們的服務

  1. 香港中文大學醫院疝氣門診為患有疝氣或疝氣相關疾病的患者(成人和兒童)提供跨部門專科團隊治療及護理 
  2. 治療的疝氣類型包括腹股溝疝氣、股疝氣、臍帶疝氣、腹腔疝氣、切口性疝氣、橫膈裂孔疝氣、橫隔疝氣、造口旁疝氣、兒科疝氣及其其他罕見的疝氣 
  3. 本門診由具豐富經驗的教授和駐院手術醫生為各類型疝氣的患者提供開腹手術或腹腔鏡手術 
  4. 另有痛症中心專門治療及跟進疝氣手術後可能出現的慢性疼痛 
  5. 本門診亦提供專業放射科醫生團隊對病情進行影像分析 


疝氣手術後慢性疼痛管理

術後慢性疼痛是需要正視的,疼痛可能是由於手術過程中的神經損傷、神經被困或對合成纖維網和疤痕的反應。疼痛有機會會嚴重影響患者的生活質素並且難以管理。

香港中文大學醫院疝氣門診對這種病況特別重視,我們有一個跨部門的專業團隊,包括外科醫生、痛症專家和放射科醫生致力於治療這種情況。我們認為最好的方法是在手術期間預防神經損傷,建議使用輕質合成纖維網和膠水固定,以減少慢性疼痛的發生。我們推廣非手術性治療,但如果病人對保守治療反應不佳,也可能需要接受手術。

 

預約

收費

收費

資訊

並非所有的疝氣都需做修補手術。沒有引起癥狀的小疝氣可以先安全地觀察,但如果不做手術,疝氣是不會消失的。大多數疝氣會隨著時間而增大,並可能導致併發症。併發症發生後就可能需要接受緊急手術,也可能有生命危險。

大多數患有疝氣的病人並無生命危險,但腹部內組織有可能進入疝囊被牽拉的風險。這可能導致疼痛、噁心、嘔吐、便秘與腸道阻塞,在極少數情況下,也可能引致器官死亡。雖然這個情况非常罕見,我們也建議盡早修補有風險及有癥狀的疝氣。

疝氣可通過傳統開放式或腹腔鏡修補,兩種手術都需要放置合成纖維網來幫助修補。醫生將在您診症時根據您的健康狀況和風險時決定手術方法。

兩種手術都要使用合成纖維網。腹腔鏡手術是一種微創手術,通過三個小切口進行,其中最大的切口為1 cm。傳統開放式手術就需要一個大約5至6 cm 的皮膚切口。腹腔鏡手術需要全身麻醉。許多研究證明,腹腔鏡手術在術後有更好的效果,包括減少疼痛(急性和慢性)和異物感覺,術後恢復更快。兩種手術在具經驗的醫生下進行,風險是相似的。

如果病人曾接受過開腹手術(如前列腺手術、剖腹產、結腸手術),疤痕可能阻礙腹腔鏡修補。另外,延伸到陰囊的大型腹股溝疝氣也可能難以使用腹腔鏡修補。

可以的。大多數腹股疝、股疝和臍帶疝氣可以通過傳統開放性方法局部或區域麻醉下修補。對於想避免全身麻醉和那些對全身麻醉有較高風險患者,可選擇傳統開放性手術。

手術後的恢復取決於手術是由腹腔鏡或傳統開放性手術進行,但兩者復原亦算快。住院時間和復原時間也會因應手術程度和健康狀況而異。但一般來說,患者將在腹腔鏡修補手術後當天或第二天便可出院,並在一至两周內恢復正常活動。接受傳統開放性修補就可能需要住院多一到两天。醫生會處方止痛藥,以協助盡快復原。手術後我們鼓勵患者在可以接受的情況下多步行和進行日常活動,手術後四日星期內應避免劇烈運動。

對於腹腔疝氣,腹腔鏡修補後疼痛將非常小。大多數患者可以在手術後的當天步行到廁所小便。對於接受傳統開放性修補或複雜腹部手術的患者,疼痛會比較大。疼痛可以通過麻醉劑和消炎止痛藥物的混合方法來控制。

這取決於患者和其它因素,如對疼痛的敏感程度,以及你做的工作類型。如不需要太多體力活動的上班一族通常可以在一至兩周後復工。那些從事大量體力勞動工作的病人可能需要兩至三周才能重返工作崗位。

下載

健康知識

疝氣是什麼

疝氣(小腸氣)疝氣(小腸氣)

疝氣是什麼

什麼會導致疝氣? 疝氣通常在有原因導致腹部壓力增加時更容易發生。這包括良性前列腺增生,便秘,長期咳嗽和肥胖。有時,在搬運重物時或舉重健身亦可能發生。疝氣也會在出生時出現,但突起物可能直到晚年才較明顯。有家族史的病人也有較高的風險。   疝氣多久發病一次? 患者發病頻率取決於疝氣的類型。疝氣可能發生在成人和兒童身上。請參閱網站其他相關部份資料,可供參考。   有哪些癥狀? 疝氣導致的癥狀取決於疝氣的類型。最常見的腹壁疝氣通常會有異常突起的情況。也可能有不適或疼痛。當你站立、拉傷或舉起重物時,不適感可能會更嚴重。有些時候,疝氣如果牽涉重要器官,有需要時作緊急治療。   表癥及診斷 醫生可以在身體檢查期間確認疝氣的存在。當你咳嗽或用力時,突起的部份可能會更加嚴重。兒童疝氣則可能在兒童哭泣或咳嗽時比較明顯。   治療 疝氣一般通過手術治療。手術的方法取決於疝氣的類型。細小無癥狀的疝氣有時可以觀察而不需要手術。一些有複雜內科病史的病人,醫生可能建議不進行手術。有關更多資訊,請參閱網站其他部分。 有時患有疝氣的病人是需要做緊急手術。疝氣中的器官可能會牽拉,甚至因為失去了血液供應而壞死。手術將需要切除壞死器官和修復疝氣。緊急疝氣手術大大增加了手術的風險,而手術也通常要使用傳統開放性手術進行。

了解更多
腹股溝疝氣

疝氣(小腸氣)疝氣(小腸氣)

腹股溝疝氣

雙側腹股溝  腹股溝疝氣是最常見的腹壁疝氣類型。它佔腹壁疝氣的75%,男性和女性患疝氣的機率分別是27%及3%。疝氣可以是單側或雙側同時出現。雙側疝氣患者可能兩邊同時一起出現,或者相隔幾年後先後在兩側出現。腹股溝疝氣手術是香港最常見的手術之一。 腹股溝疝通常在腹股溝出現突起。當患者平躺時,突起會消失,並在咳嗽或用力時再次出現。通常在有原因導致腹部壓力增加時更容易發生。這包括良性前列腺增生,便秘,長期咳嗽和肥胖。有時,在搬運重物時或舉重健身亦可能發生。病情由您的醫生檢查作診斷,有需要放射影像才能作出診斷。     治療 雖然細小無癥狀的腹股溝疝氣可安全地觀察跟進而不需做手術。然而,隨著時間積累,疝氣會自然增大或出現癥狀,繼而需要治療。股溝疝氣是可以通過幾種方法進行修補。包括傳統開放性或腹腔鏡手術。研究指出,腹腔鏡修補會有更好的效果,這包括減少手術後早期和持續疼痛,鎮痛藥需求和異物存在感的風險。此外,腹腔鏡手術也是復發性疝氣和雙人側疝氣的首選方手術法。然而,腹腔鏡修補需要在全身麻醉下進行,因此在全身麻醉風險較高的患者中,可能更傾向於在局部麻醉下進行傳統開放性手術。兩者修補術如由具經驗的醫生進行手術,併發症的風險是相似的。 微創腹股溝疝手術 微創腹股溝疝手術是氣通過三個小切口(尺寸為5mm到1cm)進行腹腔鏡修補。手術包括把疝囊定位和放置一塊合成纖維網,以幫助修補導致疝氣的缺口。在傳統開放性疝氣手術中,需要在腹股溝上打開一個約5到6厘米長的切口。當疝囊被定位後,鄰近疝囊組織會被分開及被推回腹部,然後放置合成纖維網,以修復導致疝氣的缺口。手術可在全身或局部麻醉下進行。兩種手術均可在香港中文大學醫院進行。

了解更多

服務時間

  • 星期一到星期五:
    上午9:00 - 下午5:00
  • 星期六:
    上午9:00 - 下午1:00
  • 星期日及公眾假期休息

聯絡我們

  • emailHernia@cuhkmc.hk

  • phone 預約:(852) 3946 6888
    查詢:(852) 3946 6388

  • address(沙田)1/F, 香港中文大學醫院
    (尖沙咀)香港中文大學醫務中心

Skip to main content

Hernia Clinic

Our Services

  1. The CUHK Medical Centre Hernia Clinic provides multi-disciplinary care to patients suffering from hernias or hernia related conditions (adult and children). 
  2. The types of hernia that are treated include inguinal hernia, femoral hernia, umbilical hernia, ventral hernia, incisional hernia, hiatal hernia, diaphragmatic hernia, parastomal hernia, paediatric hernias and other rarer hernias. 
  3. Dedicated Professorial and Resident surgeons offer both open and laparoscopic surgery to patients suffering from these types of conditions.
  4. The clinic also has a special interest in managing chronic pain after hernia surgery in a dedicated pain clinic.
  5. Professional team of radiologists in imaging the condition are also provided in the clinic.


Pain Management After Hernia Surgery

Chronic groin pain after hernia surgery is a serious problem. The pain could be due to nerve injury during the operation, nerves being trapped, or reaction to mesh and scar. The pain can severely impair patient’s quality of life and are difficult for management. 

The Hernia Clinic at CUHK Medical Centre has a special interest in managing this condition. We have a multi-disciplinary team including surgeons, pain specialist and radiologist dedicated to treating this condition. We support the use of light weight mesh and glue for fixation to reduce the occurrence of chronic pain. To manage the condition, non-operative measures are usually promoted, and in cases that are unresponsive to conservative measures, surgery may be required.
 

Booking

Fees & Packages

Information

Not all hernias require operation. Small hernias that are not causing symptoms may be safely observed but the hernia will not go away without surgery. Most hernias will increase in size over time and may cause symptoms. Hernias that cause symptoms or affect activity should be repaired. 

Most hernias are not dangerous, but there is always a risk that abdominal contents may enter the hernia and become stuck. This can lead to pain, nausea, vomiting and constipation with intestinal blockage, and in rare cases, dead organs. While this is uncommon, early repair of at-risk and symptomatic hernias is recommended.

Hernias are repaired surgically by open or laparoscopic means. A mesh will need to be placed to help repair the hernia. Surgical options, their risks and benefits will be discussed with you at the time of your consultation. 

Both surgery will repair the hernia with the use of a mesh. Laparoscopic repair is a minimally invasive technique performed through three small incisions, the largest of which is 1 cm. With the open technique, a skin incision of around 6cm is required. Laparoscopic surgery requires general anaesthesia. Many studies have shown that laparoscopic hernia repair is associated with better outcomes including lower incidence of pain (acute and chronic), foreign body sensation and faster recovery. Recurrences after both kinds of surgery should be similar in experienced hands.

With inguinal hernias, if a patient has had a prior lower open abdominal operation (prostate surgery, cesarean section, colon surgery), the scarring may preclude laparoscopic repair. Large inguinal hernias extending to the scrotum may also be difficult to be repaired laparoscopically. 

Yes. Most inguinal, femoral and umbilical hernias can be repaired under local or regional anaesthesia with the open approach. For patients that prefer to avoid general anaesthesia and those that have medical comorbidities that make general anaesthesia higher risk, open surgery is preferred.

Recovery after surgery depends on whether it is being done laparoscopically or open, but both are associated with rapid recovery. The length of stay in hospital and recovery times vary according to the extent of the operation and your general health, but in general, patients will be discharged the next day after operation in laparoscopic repair and are back to normal activity within one week. Those that received open repair may need to stay for 1 or 2 more days. Pain medications will be prescribed to you to help with your recovery. Walking, movement and routine activity are encouraged immediately after surgery. Strenuous exercises should be avoided for four weeks after surgery.

For inguinal hernias, pain would be minimal after laparoscopic repair. Most patients would be able to walk to the toilet for urination the day after operation. For patients undergoing open repair or complex abdominal operations, pain would be more and these can be controlled with a mix of epidural anaesthesia, narcotics and ant-inflammatory medications.

This depends on the patient and factors such as sensitivity to pain as well as the type of work you do. Typically, office workers whose jobs do not require much physical activity can usually return after a week. Those with jobs that involve a lot of physical activity may require two or three weeks before returning to work.

Download

Health Knowledge

What are Hernias

28 Oct 2021HerniaHernias

What are Hernias

What can cause hernias? Hernias usually occur when there is a cause for increase abdominal pressure. This can happen in patients suffering from certain conditions including benign prostatic hyperplasia, constipation, chronic cough and obesity. Sometimes, they can occur with heavy lifting. Hernias can be present at birth, but the bulging may not be noticeable until later in life. Some patients may have a family history of hernias.   How often do they occur? The frequency of patients suffering from hernia depends on the type of hernia. Hernias can occur in adults and children. Please refer the respective sections in other parts of the website for reference.   What are the symptoms? The symptoms hernias can cause depends on the type of hernia. The most common abdominal wall hernias usually present as a bulge. There can also be discomfort or pain. The discomfort may be worse when you stand, strain or lift heavy objects. Occasionally, the hernias can present as an emergency condition.   Signs and tests A doctor can confirm the presence of a hernia during a physical exam. The bulge can increase in size when coughing or straining. The bulge may not be obvious in children except when they are crying or coughing.   Treatment Hernia is usually treated by surgery. The type of surgery will depend on the type of hernia. Small asymptomatic hernias can sometimes be observed. In some patients with multiple medical problems, surgery may not be suggested by your doctor. Please refer to other sections in the website for more information. Emergency surgery is sometimes needed. The organs in the hernia may become stuck and even die because it loses its blood supply. Surgery would be required to remove the dead organs and repair the hernia. Emergency hernia surgery greatly increases the risks of the operation and is usually performed by open surgery.  

Know More
Inguinal Hernia

27 Oct 2021HerniaHernias

Inguinal Hernia

Bilateral inguinal hernia  Inguinal hernias are the most common type of abdominal wall hernia. It accounts for 75% of abdominal wall hernias and the chances of having a hernia is 27% in men and 3% in women. Surgery for inguinal hernia is one of the most common operations in Hong Kong. Inguinal hernias occur more frequently in men and may be confined to one side or be present on both (bilateral). Patients with bilateral hernias may have them appear together or there may be a gap of several years before the second one becomes apparent. Inguinal hernias usually present as a bulge in the groin. The bulge usually disappears when the patient lies flat and reappears after coughing or straining. Hernias usually occur when there is a cause of increase abdominal pressure. This can happen in patients suffering from certain conditions including benign prostatic hyperplasia, constipation, chronic cough and obesity. Sometimes, they can occur with heavy lifting. Diagnosis of the condition is usually made on examination by your doctor. Occasionally, radiological investigations may be required to help make the diagnosis  Treatment While small, asymptomatic inguinal hernias can be safely observed. The natural progression however, typically involves enlargement of the hernia and development of symptoms over time. There are a number of possible ways to repair an inguinal hernia. This can be done by open and laparoscopic procedures. Studies have shown that laparoscopic repair is associated with better outcomes including lower risk of early and persistent pain after surgery, analgesic requirements and presence of foreign body sensation. Furthermore, it is the preferred approach in recurrent and bilateral hernias. However, laparoscopic repair needs to be done under general anaesthesia, so in patients that are at high risk for general anaesthesia, open repair may be preferred. The risk of recurrence in experienced hands is similar in both laparoscopic and open repair. Laparoscopic inguinal hernia repair Laparoscopic repair of an inguinal hernia is performed through three small incisions measuring 5mm to 1 cm in size. The operation involves locating the hernia and placing a mesh that helps to repair the defect that is causing the hernia. In the open hernia repair, an incision approximately 6cm long is made in the groin. The hernia is identified and its contents are pushed back into the abdomen. A mesh is also placed to repair the defect that is causing the hernia. The operation can be performed under general or local anaesthesia. Both operations are offered at the CUHK Medical Centre Hernia Clinic. You can discuss with your doctor on which surgery is better suited for you.

Know More

Service Hours

  • MON - FRI:
    9:00AM - 5:00PM
  • SAT:
    9:00AM - 1:00PM
  • SUN AND PUBLIC HOLIDAYS:
    CLOSED

Contact

  • emailHernia@cuhkmc.hk

  • phone Booking: (852) 3946 6888
    Enquiry: (852) 3946 6388

  • address (Sha Tin) 1/F, CUHKMC
    (Tsim Sha Tsui) CUHK Medical Clinic

  •